GCW Udhampur hosts 7-day workshop on Yoga & Wellness

GCW Udhampur hosts 7-day workshop on Yoga & Wellness

UDHAMPUR, MAY- 25-: A 7-Day long workshop on Yoga & Wellness was organized by the Department of Sports, Government College for Women Udhampur in collaboration with NSS Unit, here on Wednesday.

The inaugural Ceremony started with a tree plantation by chief guest and guest of honour, lighting of ceremonial flame followed by yoga prayer presented by students of Department of Music GCW Udhampur and the formal welcome address by Prof. Sanjay Kumar.

Principal of the college, Prof. (Dr.) Monika Sharma was the chief guest, while District Youth Services and Sports officer S. Swarn Singh was the guest of honour on the occasion.

On the occasion, a breathtaking yoga demonstration was given by college students.

Addressing the participants, the Chief Guest highlighted the infinite potential and value of yoga in promoting a healthy nation and world and in fighting illness and Covid-19. She lauded the efforts of Dr Dinesh, Physical Director for planning and organizing such an event in the shortest possible time for the larger benefit and welfare of the students and staff as well.

The DYSSO explained the benefits of practicing yoga and gave tips on maintaining the right posture while stressing on breathing technique which he said was the greatest stress reliever.

The Physical Director and organizing secretary also explained the real essence of yoga and proposed the formal vote of thanks. Opening ceremony ended with a shanti path.

The organizing committee of the event included Dr. Mool Raj HOD Urdu, Prof Arun Gupta Librarian, Prof. Sanjay HOD Philosophy, Prof Yash Pal HOD History, Prof. Sumit Assistant Professor of English, Prof Yash Kumar Assistant professor Music, Prof. Rajinder HOD Punjabi.

The ceremony was also graced by the presence of Prof (Dr.) Seema Sharma HOD Music, Prof Kewal Kumar HOD Chemistry, Prof. Sumita. Assistant Prof. Music Dr. Sanjay Kumar, Lecturer(AA) Mukteshi Sharma, M.D Yonous, Balbir Singh, Ram Kishan, Subash Chander, Purshotam, Shamsher, Kuldeep Singh and the members of students’ council.